Samuel Heald House ca, 1740
The Carlisle Historical Society of Carlisle, Massachusetts, was founded in 1933 to gather historical and educational objects and information and to transmit to future generations all possible memorials of past and present times.
Explore this “virtual” home of the society to learn more about the history of this small New England town and the ways the society is preserving its heritage.
Customarily the Heald House Museum at 698 Concord Street, Carlisle, is open 2:00 – 5:00 pm on the third Sunday of each month. Under current conditions – with various restrictions in place because of the Covid pandemic – we are still maintaining this schedule but with certain restrictions. Docents and visitors are expected to wear masks and adhere to social distancing. The portions of the exhibits in the Heald House itself are closed, but the outdoor sites of the Carlisle copper mine and rocks from the Carlisle quarry are open, as are the exhibits in the barn.
Open Houses on the Third Sunday of Each Month During Covid Emergency
Help Document Carlisle during the Corona Virus Pandemic
Donate an Artifact
Frank Rigg Featured Speaker at our Annual Meeting
Carlisle History Research Portal